The Girls Weekend by Jody Gehrman

For fans of Ruth Ware and Lucy Foley, a riveting locked-room thriller about 5 college buddies keen to reunite after years apart–handiest to be ripped apart again while their host’s disappearance unearths darkish secrets and old grudges.Their reunion simply became against the law scene . . .June Moody, a thirty-something English professor, just wants to break out from her recent breakup and reunite with girlfriends over summer season break. Her old buddy and longtime nemesis, Sadie MacTavish, a mega-a hit author, invites June and her college pals to a toddler shower at her sprawling estate inside the San Juan Islands. June is less than thrilled to spend time with Sadie–and her husband, June’s former crush–however agrees to go.The party receives off to a shaky start while antique grudges resurface, but after they wake the next morning, they locate some thing worse: Sadie is missing, the house is in shambles, and bloodstains mar the staircase. None of them has any reminiscence of the night time before; they wonder if they have been drugged. Everyone’s a suspect. Since June had a mystery rendezvous with Sadie’s husband, she has masses of cause to suspect herself. Apparently, so do the cops.A Celtic knot of suspense and surprise, this brooding, atmospheric novel will maintain you guessing as every twist famous a brand new possibility. It will remind you of friendships hidden in the depths of your own past, and make you surprise how properly you sincerely recognise the humans you have loved the longest.

Description

The Girls Weekend opens with an invitation. International bestselling young adult creator Sadie MacTavish is accumulating her college friends for a weekend getaway inside the Pacific Northwest to have fun their friendship and her cousin Amy’s pregnancy. The reunited Fearless Five put together for an ideal weekend prepared through their ideal friend, complete with wine, kayaking and plenty of rehashing of past adventures (in addition to grievances).

But the weekend takes a sour flip while their host suddenly is going missing, leaving at the back of a massive bloodstain, a messy residence and a missing statue. None of the friends consider the night before, but all realize the truth: With tensions high, any of them should be liable for Sadie’s obvious murder. The handiest problem is that none of them knows who.

Jody Gehrman’s brand new thriller is a locked-room mystery wherein no person even is aware of how the room got locked in the first place. The women—in all likelihood which includes the killer—dont’t know who’s chargeable for Sadie’s disappearance, to the factor that they think they may have all been drugged. Paranoia and claustrophobia succeed as our narrator, English professor June Moody, tries to discover what happened to her perfect and perfectly infuriating friend. Gehrman slowly and assuredly doles out one bit of recovered reminiscence at a time as June receives in the direction of the truth, and as the innocence of each character is questioned in flip.

With intimate man or woman research and breathtaking suspense, The Girls Weekend deals with old relationships grew to become brittle with age, inviting the reader to an idyllic haven and then shattering the calm.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *