The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V. E. Schwab

In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying excursion de force. A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young lady makes a Faustian good buy to live forever―and is cursed to be forgotten by absolutely everyone she meets.Thus starts the first rate life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out throughout centuries and continents, throughout history and art, as a younger lady learns how far she will go to go away her mark at the world. But everything adjustments when, after almost three hundred years, Addie stumbles throughout a young guy in a hidden book shop and he remembers her name.

Description

In V. E. Schwab’s genre-bending 17th novel, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, the reader first meets Addie as she is fleeing a existence she doesn’t need, one that has been selected for her through her parents. In the yr 1714 in Villon, France, 23-12 months-old Addie is being compelled to marry a widower from her village whose youngsters are in need of a stepmother. Instead of submitting, Addie runs. “She doesn’t slow, doesn’t appearance back; she doesn’t want to see the existence that stands there, waiting. Static as a drawing. Solid as a tomb. Instead, she runs.”

She additionally prays to the old gods, as her buddy Estele, the village witch, has taught her. Estele warned her never to wish to the gods that answer after dark, but as nightfall bleeds into night, Addie by accident conjures just this kind of god, whom she can come to realize as Luc. He guarantees Addie of “time without limit, freedom with out rule” in trade for her soul. Only after the deal is struck does Addie recognize the secret fee of this arrangement. She can stay for a thousand years if she likes, but no person will ever take into account her. Until one day, in New York City within the 12 months 2014, she walks into a book place and, for the primary time in 300 years, a person does. It’s a twist that adjustments the entirety she notion she knew approximately her future and the choices that look forward to her.

At the heart of this novel is a meditation on legacy, time and the values every person uses to manual their path. Freed from a lifestyles’s conventional arc of getting old and transitions, the indefatigable Addie ought to proactively decide how she desires to spend her days and which sacrifices are really worth her soul’s survival. This is a hopeful e-book from an creator who's known for dark, violent stories, which makes it both a lovely surprise and a balm in tough times.

ALSO IN BOOKPAGE: Victoria Schwab discusses her “strange, hopeful ebook.”

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *