The Russian Pink by Matthew Hart

An explosive debut featuring renowned diamond professional caught in a web of deception and malice while seeking to uncover the secrets behind the most costly diamond inside the international.When “The Russian Pink”—a stunningly big rose-hued diamond—makes a marvel appearance around the neck of Honey Li, the spouse of surging presidential candidate Harry Nash, Alex Turner, an investigator for the Treasury Department’s diamond division and previous C.I.A. Agent, reveals himself spiraling down a seemingly countless rabbit hole.  A diamond like that continually carries secrets, however the web of mystery  at the back of “The Pink” is more complex than Alex ought to ever image.    Starting with the path of damage from botched sting operation, Alex wavers between legal and unlawful tactics, friends, family, and foes to discover why a mysterious Russian double agent betrayed him and the diamond ended up on a ability path to the White House.  For wherever the Russian Pink goes, secrecy, deception, and death truely follow. With echos of both John Le Carre and Jason Matthews, The Russian Pink is a stylish and sparkling page-turner that catapults the reader into the sector of blood diamond trading, a international that Matthew Hart, the author of the critically acclaimed Diamond, navigates with authoritative authenticity and wit.

Description

Matthew Hart’s debut mystery, The Russian Pink, feels specially well timed given its problem matter: a fraught presidential election and a Russian conspiracy.

A former diamond smuggler-turned-CIA-agent-turned-investigator for the U.S. Treasury, Alex Turner has dipped his toe in murky waters before in an effort to survive and feels snug running in gray regions of the law. Turner is investigating an large purple diamond called the Russian Pink that he suspects has shadowy origins. The hassle is that the diamond is in a necklace that presently belongs to the spouse of Harry Nash, a presidential candidate running in a relatively charged election.

Politics can be the least of Turner’s problems, though. The Russian Pink is also linked to murder, inventory fraud and Russian crime lords. It appears that by using investigating the gem, Turner has opened a Pandora’s box. Suddenly Turner isn’t certain he can accept as true with anyone, together with his boss on the Treasury. When his daughter is targeted, he breaks from reliable channels and makes use of his CIA schooling to get to the people threatening him.

ALSO IN BOOKPAGE: Matthew Hart explores the dangerous allure of diamonds.

This novel performs out like an motion movie, fast paced and globe-trotting from New York City to Antwerp to South Africa. Hart’s compelling hero isn’t afraid to resort to violence, and we see him enticing in the whole thing from sword fights to falling off the balcony of a skyscraper’s penthouse. There’s also a dash of romance to mood the action scenes. Turner enlists the assist of a diamond smuggler named Lily to help him, and as they race around the world on the lookout for answers, a lingering anxiety between them blooms into something more.

The Russian Pink is a fast read, in no way once permitting the reader to seize their breath. Perfect for fans of Robert Ludlum and David Baldacci, this mystery may have readers anxiously expecting Hart’s next novel.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *